Good Enough

How do you know that you’re good enough? Smart enough, pretty enough just enough?  I struggle with this often.  There are days I look in the mirror and think how can anyone find me attractive? Why would they? I do have my good days when I look in the mirror I actually like what I see but often I don’t.  I know I’m smart, kind and generally a good person.  It’s the outer beauty that I can’t find in me.  The man I’m with now showers me with compliments, sincere ones.  He truly sees me as beautiful.  When he tells me how much he finds me beautiful I laugh and tell him he needs glasses.  I’ve always found it hard to accept compliments.  He’s gotten me to the point where I just say thank you now but inside I still shake my head and wish I could see me as he sees me.   At work we have elevators that have mirrors on all walls. Ugh  riding in those are the worst because I can see myself from every angle.  And all I can think of sometimes when I see myself is why me? What does he find so attractive? There are so many more attractive women out there than me.  It’s pathetic really.  They say for someone to love you, you must love yourself first.  That’s the kicker, I do love myself.  I know I have good qualities it’s just that outer beauty thing.  I guess I just have to learn to see the beauty that others see.  Maybe I’m the one who needs glasses.

4 thoughts on “Good Enough

  1. I haven’t been commenting, but I’ve been reading and thinking of you a lot. I’ve had problems with self-esteem before, but that was years ago when my mom said some negative things about my appearance, comparing me to my friends. I changed for the better after I met my husband. You should believe him! Maybe it would be good for you to do some therapy, have you considered that? You need to work through your issues. You’ve endured too long a situation in which you were not loved, valued, cherished as anyone (not just women, any human being) should be. No wonder you’re distrustful of compliments.

  2. The reason he tells you that you are beautiful is because he is not just looking at your outward beauty, but he also knows the beauty that you have on the inside.

    You are the total package.

    Don’t beat yourself up over it, just smile and nod… and try to enjoy every moment.

    Glad to see you in a good place. :)

Leave a Reply

